Dream Theater is an American progressive metal band formed in 1985 (formed) by John Myung, John Petrucci, and Mike Portnoy while they attended Berklee College of Music in Boston, before they dropped out to support the band. Though a number of lineup changes followed, the three original members remain today along with James LaBrie and Jordan Rudess…”

“The band is well known for the technical proficiency of its instrumentalists, who have won many awards from music instruction magazines.”

RIAA gold and platinum certification
1. Images and Words (Gold) – February 2, 1995
2. Metropolis 2000: Live Scenes From New York (Gold) – November 8, 2002
3. Live at Budokan (DVD) (Platinum) – January 26, 2005
4. Live in Tokyo/5 Years in a Livetime (Platinum) – March 22, 2006
5. Score (DVD) (Platinum) – October 11, 2006 [46]

Keyboard Magazine
Jordan Rudess was awarded the following Keyboard Magazine Reader’s Poll award’:
1. Best New Talent (1994) [47]
2. Burrn magazine’s best keyboards player of the year (2007)

Modern Drummer
Mike Portnoy won the following Modern Drummer magazine Reader’s Poll awards:
1. Best Up & Coming Talent (1994)
2. Best Progressive Rock Drummer (1995-2006)
3. Best Recorded Performance (1995 for Awake, 1996 for A Change of Seasons, 1998 for Falling Into Infinity, 2000 for Metropolis, Pt. 2: Scenes From a Memory, 2002 for Six Degrees of Inner Turbulence, and 2007 for Score)
4. Best Clinician (2000, 2002)
5. Best Educational Video/DVD (2000, 2002)
6. Hall of Fame Inductee (2004)

Guitar World
The album Metropolis Pt. 2: Scenes from a Memory was ranked #95 on the magazine’s list of the 100 Greatest Guitar Albums of All Time.

Total Guitar
John Petrucci won Guitarist of the year award (2007).


Have a Merry LOLlinks Christmas!